chamber ensemble of 10 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
1(=picc+afl).0.1(=bcl).1 - 1000 - perc(1): crot/mar/whip/BD+ped/2 tgl/5 tpl.bl/susp.cym/t.bells/vib/woodchimes - harp - vln.vla.vlc.db
First Performance
9.1.94, ICA, London: Cambridge New Music Players/Paul Hoskins

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

This piece consists of many smaller pieces strung together to form a continuous whole, rather like a series of disparate objects hung together along a piece of string. The pieces are scored for a wide variety of different groups within the basic ensemble - solos, duos, trios, etc. - and are sometimes presented simultaneously with each other. They each share an overall tendency towards an increase in tension and speed, and thus the whole work forms a gradual accumulation of energy which corresponds to the title (meaning, literally, ‘drag-me-up). The pieces share many harmonic and melodic features as well: the whole piece is, in fact, dominated by pitches from a harmonic spectrum on a low G. In the calmer coda, this is absorbed into a still lower C-spectrum in which fragments from the whole work are drawn together into a lyrical, folk-like cantilena. Tiramisu was composed in 1994 and revised the following year. It was written for the Cambridge New Music Players who gave the first performance at the ICA in London. The piece is dedicated to Adrian Jack.

Julian Anderson

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8
Email: hire@fabermusic.com

Take a look

Martin Suckling

With the 2011 premiere of Martin Suckling’s Candlebird, audiences were introduced to a vibrant and...

read more