chamber ensemble of 18 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
Instrumentation cl.bsn(=toy piano) - hrn(playing crotales)*.tpt(playing inside the piano)*.trbn - perc(3/4): log drums**/vib/BD/mar - pno - 2 vln.vla.vlc.db * - horn/trumpet parts can be performed by other available musicians, as they are not required to play their own instruments ** - log drums are optional

Commissioned with funds from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for premiere performance by Alarm Will Sound

First Performance
28.5.2015, The Sheldon, St Louis, MO, USA: Alarm Will Sound/Alan Pierson

Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

VEEJ was created from a 15-measure long sequence of MIDI information, the same exact data feeding multiple times into various synthesizers and signal processes, resulting in a collection of audio-cells, or stems. These cells got sequenced and combined to form the initial sketch of the piece. I sent the raw material to Chris Thompson, who mapped out the structure and meticulously transcribed each cell for a combination of instruments we felt might represent it acoustically. We workshopped these ideas with Alarm Will Sound in St Louis, returned back home to the drawing board and worked on shaping the details of the piece gradually over a few months, via email. The title VEEJ is a nickname given to me back in 2005 by Nico Muhly and is frequently used by friends and collaborators, especially ones in New York City. Chris used it as the title in his initial transcript of this material — and it stuck. V.S. March 2015 Transcribed by Chris Thompson Orchestrated and Arranged by Chris Thompson and Valgeir Sigurðsson With helpful suggestions from Alan Pierson and members of Alarm Will Sound

Licensing Information

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Oliver Knussen

'No figure in British contemporary music is more respected than Oliver Knussen… every piece makes its...

read more