2(=picc).2.2.ssax.0 – 2200 – pno – strings double basses require low C extensions


Score and parts in preparation


It's spring for the viola…[Lawrence] Power wanted a work that brings out the viola's heroic qualities rather than elegiac aspects. Hillborg has complied with a cleverly put-together showpiece which both begins and ends with anger…In between there is stillness and calm, elusive woodwinds (including soprano saxophone) and rhythmic passages where bamboo sticks clatter against the strings. And of course delicious Hillborg-esque sound effects where string glissandi suggest electronics…[and] a vibrato which makes the solo viola sound like the theremin.


Dagens Nyheter (Johanna Paulsson), 31 March 2023 


‘Hillborg’s single-movement concerto proved to be the highlight of the evening… this texturally complex work was captivating… this work is an ideal length, harmonically complex and very approachable. Opening with an extended, vivacious, highly virtuosic solo, the work grew organically, exploring the range of sounds and textures from the body of strings. Often quite brisk, this intense work had some slower more relaxed moments, the quieter passages bringing contrast and spirituality. Power’s technical assurance was impressive, as was his unflagging endurance. Hillborg was in attendance and was extremely well received by the Liverpool audience.’

Bachtrack (Leighton Jones), 22 October 2021


Viola Concerto

Harris Concert Hall (Aspen, CO, USA)

Lawrence Power/Piotr Waclawik/Aspen Festival Orchestra

Viola Concerto

Queen's Hall (Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom)

Scottish Chamber Orchestra/Lawrence Power/Andrew Manze

Viola Concerto

City Halls (Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom)

Scottish Chamber Orchestra/Lawrence Power/Andrew Manze