Score 0571572766 (fp) on sale

Programme Notes

These three short movements are extracted from my Sonata for Piano Four Hands (2009). It dawned on me while watching Synergy play music for a quartet on two grand marimbas that this material was nicely comprised to fit its percussive sibling. On closer examination almost half of the original score could be used with little alteration.
The three movements I’ve selected are called Deuces, Waltz and Toccata. Collectively they don’t confirm to any of the models normally used for collections of short pieces, being uniformly neither dances, bagatelles, intermezzi, nocturnes, studies, preludes, impromptus, waltzes or mazurkas. It finally dawned on me that they could only be pomegranates.
Carl Vine, 2 August 2010

Three Pomegranates

Independent Theatre (Sydney, NSW, Australia)

Synergy Percussion