Score and parts for hire

Programme Notes

David Matthews Tango for string orchestra Op. 80a This tango was originally composed in 1990 as the fourth movement of my Fourth Symphony. It was intended there as a modern equivalent of the classical minuet. I am fond of the piece - the tango is the most alluring of contemporary dances - and I have made a number of arrangements of it, for solo piano, wind band and various chamber ensembles. Total Tango was written for the Deal and Presteigne Festivals, 2003.

© David Matthews

Total Tango

Kings Place (London, United Kingdom)

English Chamber Orchestra/Paul Watkins

Total Tango

St John-at-Hampstead (London, United Kingdom)

George Vass/Hampstead & Highgate Festival Orchestra

Total Tango

St George's Church (Deal, Kent, United Kingdom)

Deal Festival Orchestra/George Vass