chamber ensemble of 4 players
Mixed Chamber Ensemble
cl - pno - vln.vlc
First Performance
25.11.1993, St George's, Brandon Hill, Bristol, UK: Lynsey Marsh/Anthony Marwood/Louise Hopkins/Thomas Adès

Piano score and parts 0571518974 on sale

Programme Notes

Catch structures itself around various combinations of the four instruments. There are several games going on: at the start, the clarinet is the outsider, the other three are the unit, then, after a decoy entry, the clarinet takes the initiative. All four then play jovial ‘pig-in-the-middle’ with each other. The clarinet is then phased out leaving a sullen piano and cello, with interjections based on the clarinet’s original tune. This slower passage gradually mutates back into fast music, and this time the game is in earnest: the piano is squeezed out, only to lure the clarinet finally into the snare of its own music.

Thomas Adès

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Catch' reviews

“His music is arrestingly original… The theatrical element is written into the piece: a pianist, a cellist and a violinist, seated on stage, fend off the attempts of a wandering clarinettist to join them … All the efforts are repelled, until the work’s wistful yet quizzical ending … He has an engaging voice and audacious imagination.” Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

Oliver Knussen

'No figure in British contemporary music is more respected than Oliver Knussen… every piece makes its...

read more