Tranquil Abiding


chamber orchestra
Chamber/Small Orchestra
2(II=picc).2.2(II=bcl).2(II=cbsn) – 2200 – perc(1): large tam-t/4 gongs/4 bamboo clusters/10 small bowls and bells/4 Japanese rins/3 crot/2 susp.bells/wdbl – strings (min

Commissioned by the Riverside Symphony, George Rothman, Music Director, and by Bournemouth Orchestras

First Performance
10.6.99, Lincoln Center, New York: Riverside Symphony/George Rothman

Score 0-571-52051-0 on sale, parts for hire

Programme Notes
Tranquil Abiding is a Buddhist term for a state of single-pointed concentration. This piece is a 14-minute movement based throughout on a single, slow breathing rhythm. The rhythm consists of an “inhalation” on an upper note followed by an “exhalation” on a lower one. There are melodic fragments above it: one using only one pitch, another three pitches, another five pitches, another eight pitches and a fifth fifteen pitches. It is scored for small orchestra and was commissioned jointly by Riverside Symphony and Bournemouth Orchestras as the result, respectively, of a Koussevitsky award and funds provided by the Arts Council of England. JH

Licensing Information

News & Reviews

'Tranquil Abiding' reviews

'Tranquil Abiding was a haunted meditation on a musical idea. A simple rocking melody was overlaid with opulent flashes of woodwind writing.' The Guardian (Tom Service) October 2001 Read more

Site Search

Newsletter sign-up

Submit your email address here to receive the latest news and special offers from Faber Music

Score Availability

It is possible in certain circumstances to purchase some scores direct from the Hire Library, even if advertised as available only for hire.

Please Contact the Hire Library:
Tel: +44 (0)1279 828907 / 8

Take a look

David Matthews

read more