2(=picc).2.2(II=bcl).0 – 2200 –perc(1): crot, t.bells, tam-t, 1 timp – strings (min


Score and parts in preparation

Programme Notes

Composed in 2020 for Nicolas Altstaedt, Anders Hillborg’s first Cello Concerto is characterised by the intimacy of its scoring, and a direct and paired-back simplicity of expression. Much of the work’s 27-minute span is scored for strings alone, with dazzling virtuosity eschewed in favour of long, soaring cantabile lines – the soloist’s rich and resonant low C string is only utilised at a few key moments. This ravishingly beautiful, glacial, soundscape occasionally ruptures – we hear a fragment of renaissance polyphony as if through gauze, and later a frenzied, surreal outburst for full orchestra leads to a moment of crisis – but the prevailing mood is one of vast space, loneliness and longing.
Faber Music

Cello Concerto

Finnish Premiere

Concert Hall (Turku, Finland)

Turku Philharmonic Orchestra/Emilia Hoving/Amalie Stalheim